About Us

Cataract Oars X Wound Dylan - About Us

Based in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA, the front door of outdoor recreation.

Cataract® Oars provides river outfitters, guides, and enthusiast with premium composite oars and blades. There’s not much worse than a broken oar out on the water, and we get that. All our products are manufactured in-house using state-of-the-art filament winding technology with only the finest materials. We build oars meant to last.

Our Mission: Simple. Build the best oars on the planet.

For over three decades we’ve accomplished our goal and continue to do so today.

Oar Manufacturing: It’s Not Rocket Science. Or Is It?

At Cataract® Oars we build oars like they’re going to take us to the moon. As a brand of Advanced Composites, Inc. (ACI), provider of military grade and aerospace composites, our oars undergo the same rigorous quality control as ACI’s aerospace parts. By using the most sophisticated systems and utilizing the more than 40 years’ experience our engineers boast, we crush the competition. These claims are backed by countless satisfied customers who report their oars lasting years, even decades.

You could say the strength and resilience of our oars is bad for repeat sales. We’d respond, it’s just good business – for the environment, our reputation, and above all, the safety of you and your cargo. This philosophy has led us to become the prominent name in performance whitewater oars. Become a part of the legend, and try a Cataract® oar the next time you float.

Giving Back

Success in business is the result of a community of people. We love to give back to that community in meaningful ways. In the oar industry we rely heavily on the rivers and waterways, as do our supporters. We understand conservation is a vital element to ensure the river running industry thrives. That’s why at Cataract® Oars we promote the health of American rivers and seek to preserve their unique properties. This is done through our support for, and contributions to, many charitable and environmental organizations. In addition, we provide support to local organizations that contribute to a robust community here in Salt Lake City, Utah. There’s a role for everyone when it comes to conservation. Always pack out more than you pack in.

Photo by Pablo Fierro on Unsplash

Give Us A Review on Google

Groups We Support

America Outdoors Association: http://www.americaoutdoors.org/.

Outdoor Industry Association: http://outdoorindustry.org/.

Utah Rivers Council: http://www.utahrivers.org/.

Idaho Rivers United: http://www.idahorivers.org/.

River Management Society: http://www.river-management.org/.

American Whitewater: http://www.americanwhitewater.org/.

Upper Clackamas Whitewater Festival: http://upperclackamasfestival.org/.

Mckenzie River Guides: http://mckenzieguides.com/.

Splore: http://splore.org/.

Common Ground Outdoor Adventures: http://www.cgadventures.org/.

John Wesley Powell River History Museum: http://johnwesleypowell.com/.

KUER public radio: http://kuer.org/.

F2V: http://f2v.me/index.html.

Utah Food Bank: https://www.utahfoodbank.org/.

Toys For Tots: http://www.toysfortots.org/Default.aspx.